The next step for the HHS Young Democrats prize winners:

Georgia Evans will attend New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts where she will major in Drama.

June Park will attend Harvard University.

Adam Stuck will attend Susquehanna University.

Jamie Taglang will attend George Washington University in D.C., majoring in Economics.

The Haverford Democrats’ Selection Committee and how they grew the prizes.

Sheryl Forste-Grupp, a vice-president for the Haverford Democrats, convened a committee of five in March to select the winners of the first Young Democrats prize. Forste-Grupp is, herself, an English teacher and her committee included four educators: Jim Brown (Ward 8), Ben Danson (Ward 2), Rich Milgliore (Ward 9), and Kay Sweet (Ward 5).

After reading letters from the Young Democrats who applied for the prize and discussing the four applicants, the committee members concluded that all four seniors were worthy of the winning. Forste-Grupp explained, “we all agreed that we could not eliminate anyone because they each had worked incredibly hard to register high school students, volunteer at events, canvass voters, and organize activities for the club. We just couldn’t do it — especially when these seniors had already lost so much to Covid-19 — prom, the BLAST, graduation, and on and on. So all five of us contributed $50 to cover the cost of the fourth prize. Everyone just reached into their pockets and gave!”